Obadiah Smith House
The Obadiah Smith House, ca. 1700
853 St. Johnland Road
Bequeathed to Obadiah, a grandson of the Patentee Richard Smith, this is the first house built on the west side of the Nissequogue River. This house has been preserved as an architectural study, which stands as a surviving example of early Long Island structures incorporating both Dutch and English building traditions.